PD On Demand

At my school we have profession development EVERY SINGLE MONDAY. Seriously. It is built into our schedule.

Now, I know what you’re thinking. “That’s crazy! How can you stand it? I would never work there!” I usually get a reaction of disgust, panic, and shear horror when I mention weekly PD, and doesn’t that show that there is a fundamental flaw in the way PD is conducted? It also terrifies me that educators cannot find more engaging ways to present information to one another.  We dread learning new things in the professional development setting, but readily seek new ideas outside of our building.

PD

Thanks to some innovative thinking on my principal’s part (and some borrowing of fantastic ideas), this year my high school will be attempting a new PD format called PD On Demand. We will choose different areas that WE want to work on, we will attend training, seek information on our own, implement what we’ve learned, and write reflections. I’m very excited to try this, and my blog will be serving as my portfolio for this new endeavor.

This semester I will focus on strategies for my English class, ELL, and leadership. I’m hoping this will be the answer we need to professional development.

About Bobbi Gore

I am a high school English teacher at Santa Fe South charter school in Oklahoma City. I love incorporating technology into my classroom, and I am always willing to try something new with my students.
This entry was posted in Professional Development and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

