Redesigning My Class

I chose “Subject Area Strategies” as one of my PD paths for this semester, and I plan on really delving into designing my class for the benefit of my students.

I’ve played with the idea of centers and student choice for a while now, and this is the year that change is really going to occur.

My students and I have started the year answering the question, “What should English class look like?” Answers at first were all about the aesthetics: bean bags to sit on, no more tables, make it look like a living room. All of the ideas were wonderful, but I wanted my students to go deeper. What will we do during class? Outside of class? What will we read? How will we decide? How will we make sure all learning styles are being met? How will we track our learning?

My students are currently putting together their ideas to present to their peers, and together we will decide how this class will work. I have my ideas, but I’m more curious to hear theirs.

7ba5830a1eafab8a6e31e7f108475d14

About Bobbi Gore

I am a high school English teacher at Santa Fe South charter school in Oklahoma City. I love incorporating technology into my classroom, and I am always willing to try something new with my students.
This entry was posted in Learning Centers, Professional Development and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

