My New Classroom Setup

When I first walked into my classroom it looked like this:

IMG_0056 IMG_0055 IMG_0053

It had no color, vibrancy or life to it. I knew I could never learn in a space like this, nor did I want to work in one. So my mother and I spent several days cleaning, painting, and sprucing things up. When we were done, my classroom looked like this:

008The walls were bright, the tables colorful, signs were hung, but I still never enjoyed the layout. Six tables all in rows. For years I had six tables all in rows. I asked the kids how we should arrange the space. Tables would move into weird shapes that made no more sense than they did before, and quickly we would find ourselves back to six tables all in rows.

This year I was finally done. My classroom is a large space, and we were crammed into these rows because I couldn’t come up with any other idea. I decided I would create learning spaces for collaboration, and the spaces would need to make sense when we did centers.

First, I started with my vocabulary center. I have a white board that had computers sitting in front of it, so it was never used. I moved the computers, covered the white board with paper, and created a word wall. I then put a table in front of the wall for my kids to work while they are expanding their vocabulary.

013

Next, I brought some large pillows I had from home, bought a rug for $7, and created a nice, comfy reading area.

009

I have had a couch squished in the corner of my room for years now. Although I didn’t mind students sitting on it, most just assumed it was a forbidden seat, and it was rarely used. Why do teachers keep couches in their room that students can’t sit on? I decided to put it front and center. It’s a great place to work, and it’s perfect for the game center.

003 007011

My students really wanted bean bags to sit on, so we got a few with some grant money, and I also got a toddler table, so they would have a work space that was just the right height.

042 044 046For the art center, I put a table near the sink. This provides an easy cleanup spot for my kids. I also cleaned off a bulletin board next to the sink, so my kids can display their work.

005I had a cafe table that I turned into my writing center area. It is right next to the spot we keep the computers, so it made sense to go here.

007The last area I created was my drama center. Last year, my students and I cleaned out the closet and painted one wall green so we could have a green screen recording studio. We also store costumes and props in the closet, so it just made sense to have the drama center right next to it.

017

My room finally feels like it has a purpose to the layout, and while we don’t do centers every day, each area is used for group work and collaboration. My students love it, and I’m finally happy with my classroom.

004

About Bobbi Gore

I am a high school English teacher at Santa Fe South charter school in Oklahoma City. I love incorporating technology into my classroom, and I am always willing to try something new with my students.
This entry was posted in Classroom Design and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

